Thanksgiving Disaster

I decided on an evening meal, primarily because I woke up real late and didn’t want to eat at 3 PM, like past Thanksgivings. So at the tail of the Lions game, I got up from my chair and decided to make the bread pudding first. That way, I knew it would be done and out of the way.

Pulled the bread pudding out of the oven and it turned out fine. So I decided to go for a short jog, then I could come back and start the chicken. And that’s when it all went to hell…

I was using a recipe from Cook’s Illustrated, which called for rotating the bird in the oven with a V-Rack. Instructions also said that if you didn’t have a V-Rack, you could just use a regular roasting rack and prop the chicken up with balls of aluminum foil. After the first 20 minutes of cooking, I had trouble rotating the chicken to its other wing side. Finally got it turned and back into the oven for another 20 minutes. Thankfully, for the final turn, the recipe called for the bird to be placed flat in the pan. Didn’t have any problem making that turn.

Toward the end of the last turn, I decided to start the mashed sweet potatoes. I felt I could go sit down in the living room while waiting for the chicken to finish cooking. Come to find out, I fell asleep, and woke up to the oven beeping, my dad yelling, and the sweet potatoes burning. All the water boiled out and now my sweet potatoes were charred on the bottom. My dad was still yelling at me, which really wasn’t helping the situation, and then I pulled the chicken out of the oven. Put the pan on the counter. There wasn’t enough room on the counter, apparently, because the roasting pan, with the chicken, fell onto the floor. My dad was still yelling, and I finally just yelled back “F-CK YOU!” I picked the chicken up, wiped it off, and served it anyway.

Even after the disaster, my dad is still prattling on and on, talking about how he doesn’t like eating at 8:30. I don’t like it either, but seeing as he did nothing to help, I just shut him out for the rest of the night.

No vegetable made it to the plate. Surprisingly enough, even with the chicken staying in the oven too long, it still was nice and moist. The bread pudding was nice, though there was no caramel sauce.

One of these days, I will look back upon this meal and laugh… right?

About Bob

I'm just a 30 year old who loves and lives food. I've been morbidly obese, teetered on the edge of anorexia, battled with orthorexia for a couple years, and am finally living a life of balance. As for what I do, I'm a student at the Culinary Institute of Michigan through Baker College, I work in retail, and I'm still finding my way through this hurricane. View all posts by Bob

Leave a Reply

